Preparations For Seattle

So I’m off to Seattle tomorrow, really excited to see how an American audience reacts to the film. It’s playing in an international category with some other work which all looks really good. Also really excited to visit Seattle, going to spend the first few days wandering around getting a feel for the place. Not sure what to expect really, the guys at the festival have told me that there are mountains and volcanoes which I had no idea about. In fact I know very limited information about the place. Here’s what I have picked up over the years:

1. Seattle Supersonic’s – Awesome basketball team which I encountered whilst playing NBA Jam on the Sega Megadrive.
2. Sleepless In – Obvious choice. I don’t remember much about the film but for Tom Hank’s loveable everyman performance.
3. Emerald City – I’ve retained this slice of information, although quite why it’s called the Emerald City, I have no idea. Maybe it has something to do with The Wizard of Oz?
4. Starbucks – The home of the coffee house. I take mine black with no sugar.

I’ve been given a few haunts to check out by a local friend of a friend, but I’ll blog from when I touch down and let you know how it all goes. I really hope the quality of the film stands up at the SIFF as we’re screening from Digi due to lack of funds. Hopefully it will look ok projected, it would be a shame to see it not look its best as one of my favourite aspects of the film is the look and production values. But I’ll wait and see.

Leave a Reply

