Prague & Kolya

kolya

DOBRY DEN! Myself and James have reached Prague safe and sound. I’m writing from the comfy conference room of the production office, which is nestled in the centre of the city, walled on every side by amazing high reaching buildings and surrounded by a street fighter combo of brick, tile and cobbles.

Prague looks incredibly beautiful, the architecture is amazing. I watched a little known czech film a few weeks ago called ‘Kolya’, if you haven’t seen it, it’s really a brilliant little film, directed by Jan Sverák who manages to coax such an adorable performance from the little tyke in it that it made me want to cry. I didn’t cry because I watched it with my girlfriend and I was afraid she might think I was a pussy. Anyway the film is great and was shot in Prague so it reminds me very much of that. Oh and it won an Oscar. Go see it.

Anyway, so I’ve yet to sample the local delicacies although I’m told I should eat ‘Dumplings and Goulash’. Doesn’t sound too appetising, in fact they sound like a TV comedy duo (Prague’s answer to Mitchell & Webb no doubt). Still, I’m sure it will be delicious. Today I am on a recce, before probably getting an early night after this mornings incredibly early (but short) flight.

Here are some morbid facts I found out about Prague. They seem to be mostly about people buried here. Ominous…

Did You Know?

World-renowned writer Franz Kafka is buried at the New Jewish Cemetery in Prague.

Good King Wenceslas from the popular Christmas carol is buried in Prague.

So before I go here’s a little something from ‘Kolya’ to tide you over. Spoken by the legendary womaniser ‘Louka’ played wonderfully by Zdenek Sverák…oh and James says “Hello”.

“Hi, Helenka? This is Louka. I suddenly felt so lonely, so guess who I thought of? That’s right, you.” – Louka – Kolya

Til next time…

350px-Prague_street

He was having trouble building a space shuttle

He was having trouble building a space shuttle

Leave a Reply

