Screentest opens tonight!


Tonight is the opening night of the Screentest National Student Film Festival and I for one cannnot wait. I’ve had the privilege and the pleasure of watching a selection of the submissions and the standard is incredibly high. Having worked as festival programmer in my ‘yoot’ I can honestly say that the technical ability and production values present in these student films are the best I’ve ever seen.

I am genuinely honoured to be involved in the festival, simply because Screentest has such an amazing heritage. From it’s live television final in the 80’s, which produced winner and future Pixar god Jan Pinkava (Ratatouille, Geri’s Game) to the festival being immortalised in Hammer & Tongs’ ‘Son of Rambow’, it has undoubtedly become a national institution and the first stop on the festival circuit for new filmmakers.

You can still get tickets and roll up (on ‘dubs’ if you’re that way inclined) for a weekend of short film fun at The South Bank University . If you come along tonight I’ll be screening Mixtape and doing a Q&A at 6pm and 8pm so drop by and say hello if you’re around.

Aside from this, I’ll be on a panel discussing digital media tomorrow afternoon and I’ll also be presenting an award at tomorrow night’s award ceremony. Then most probably getting drunk and seeking out some Destiny’s Child or Sonique to shake it to. (I know right – WTF happened to SONIQUE?!)

Anyway, if you don’t want to miss the next Christopher Nolan or McG (less so) then get yourself down to ‘Landan Tan’.

“And that’s what takes me high…higher than I’ve been before” – Sonique

Leave a Reply

